Building a Playspace

FUNdraising 101

We know that fundraising is often the biggest hurdle when planning a playspace project. Don't worry - we're here to help! KaBOOM! has years of fundraising experience that we're excited to share. During this online workshop, we'll take you through the four main types of fundraising: individual giving, corporate sponsorship, grants, and special events. We'll help you hone your communication skills as you approach businesses and individuals for money and we'll show you what a successful grant looks like. Finally, we'll give you great examples of special events that you can start planning ASAP. WATCH IT NOW!

 

On-Demand Training Modules in this Series
Fundraising 101
June 26, 2013 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
We know that fundraising is often the biggest hurdle when planning a playspace project. Don't worry - we're here to help you. KaBOOM! has years of fundraising experience that we're excited to share with you. During this webinar, we'll take you through the four main types of fundraising: individual giving, corporate sponsorship, grants, and special events. We'll help you hone your communication skills as you approach businesses and individuals for money. We'll show you what a successful grant looks like. And finally, we'll give you great examples of special events that you can start planning ASAP
 
Recruiting Volunteers for Your Community Project
May 17, 2012 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
With lessons learned from 15 years of experience coordinating large volunteer projects, we'll share simple steps you can take to ensure a great volunteer turn-out for your community project and a fulfilling experience for all volunteers involved.

Guest co-host: Jen Leshnower, KaBOOM! Project Manager
 
Making The Ask: Getting Business Sponsorships
April 19, 2012 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Learn how to:
• Craft and perfect your "ask" of businesses and corporations
• Identify the ten steps to securing a business sponsorship
• The most common errors made when seeking sponsorship

Guest co-host: Zoe Paglee, KaBOOM! Senior Manager of Cause Marketing
 
Playground Safety, Sites & Surfacing
April 3, 2012 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
What are some common safety concerns on the playground? Just what is reengineered wood fiber anyway? Tune in for answers to all your burning questions regarding the important structural logistics of your playspace.

Guest co-host: Cassie Haslett, KaBOOM! Project Manager
 
How To Host A Successful Design Day
March 16, 2012 at 1:30 PM EDT, 12:30 PM CDT, 11:30 AM MDT, 10:30 AM PDT
Make kids an integral part of the playspace planning process! Join us in this free interactive session to find out how to do this and how to take advantage of Design Day for volunteer recruitment, publicity, and youth involvement efforts.

Guest co-host: Lisa Klane, KaBOOM! Project Manager
 
Grant Writing 101
January 24, 2012 at 2:00 PM EST, 1:00 PM CST, 12:00 PM MST, 11:00 AM PST
Learn to identify the three primary grant maker types, locate grant opportunities, and prepare a succinct yet compelling grant proposal.
 
Maintaining a Successful Community Garden
December 12, 2011 at 12:00 PM EST, 11:00 AM CST, 10:00 AM MST, 9:00 AM PST
Thinking about adding a garden to your playspace? Watch this twenty-minute recording for an overview of what to think about as you plan, build, and maintain a community garden.
 
Recruiting Volunteers for Your Community Project
November 22, 2011 at 2:00 PM EST, 1:00 PM CST, 12:00 PM MST, 11:00 AM PST
With lessons learned from 15 years of experience coordinating large volunteer projects, we'll share simple steps you can take to ensure a great volunteer turn-out for your community project and a fulfilling experience for all volunteers involved.
 
Maintaining Your Playspace
March 21, 2011 at 10:00 AM EDT, 9:00 AM CDT, 8:00 AM MDT, 7:00 AM PDT
Join KaBOOM! staff for a twenty-minute recording on how and why to create a comprehensive and effective maintenance plan that involves the entire community.
 
Working with the Media
March 8, 2011 at 2:00 PM EST, 1:00 PM CST, 12:00 PM MST, 11:00 AM PST
Working with the media can be a little daunting, but after viewing this recording you have no need to be anxious! You will learn to develop a public relations strategy, write a media advisory and press release, and conduct an interview with media professionals.
 
FUNdraising 101
January 20, 2011 at 2:00 PM EST, 1:00 PM CST, 12:00 PM MST, 11:00 AM PST
Start early and fundraise often: that's one key to a successful playspace project! Join us in this session for a look at concrete fundraising strategies that have proven successful in communities across the country.
 
Your Guide to the KaBOOM! Community-Build Model
January 10, 2011 at 2:00 PM EST, 1:00 PM CST, 12:00 PM MST, 11:00 AM PST
Why community-build? Watch this recorded training to learn about the benefits of the community-build model and the crucial steps, gleaned from 15 years of KaBOOM! experience, of a successful volunteer-driven community-build project.
 
Making Your Build Day Green
September 30, 2010 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Along with lots of volunteers, excitement, and enthusiasm, a Build Day can often yield unnecessary waste. Join us in this recording for an introduction to the myriad ways you can minimize the environmental impact of your build and care for the greatest playspace of all, the natural environment.
 
Almost There! Getting Ready for Build Day
June 17, 2010 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
In this recording we will go over how to prepare for your Build Day in the final weeks of your project.

Learn how to arrange soil and utility line testing, schedule final preparations before your project's final day, and identify the ten critical needs for a successful Build Day.
 
Trees at Playspaces
April 15, 2010 at 1:00 PM EDT, 12:00 PM CDT, 11:00 AM MDT, 10:00 AM PDT
Please note - this is a downloadable webinar. The file will automatically download to your computer for viewing.

It's time to reconsider landscaping "extras" and begin to see trees as critical components of successful playspaces.