Playful City USA
 

Play Matters: A Study of Best Practices to Inform Local Policy and Process in Support of Children's Play

The opportunity to play is essential for the physical, social, emotional and educational development of our children and for the health and well-being of our communities. Yet play is disappearing from children's lives. Rising obesity rates are perhaps the most measurable and alarming evidence of a generation of children who are less active and less playful. If this trend is not reversed, this "Sedentary Generation" is on track to live shorter lives than their parents. To this end, KaBOOM! undertook a year-long research project to identify, describe and analyze local initiatives to increase play in 12 communities across the country. In this online training you'll hear highlights from the report. Please join us to learn more about the best practices in informal local policy that support children's play. Watch this presentation on demand NOW!


On-Demand Training Modules in this Series
Playful City USA Best Practices: Innovative Strategies Through Neighborhoods
October 24, 2012 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Join the Playful City USA team for a special webinar presentation featuring the City of Brisbane, CA and City of Yuma, AZ. The City of Brisbane is collaborating M.O.B. (Mothers of Brisbane), a 250-large community group focusing on mapping playspaces and working with the city to fundraise to build a new playground in Brisbane. The City of Yuma Parks and Recreation Department received an Imagination Playground in a Box in 2010. Learn how the city has instituted the use of Imagination Playground in a Box to engage students at local schools with the goal to play using their imagination without modern electronic technology and without heavy direction or coaching.
 
Playful City USA Best Practices: Innovative Strategies Through Schools
October 3, 2012 at 1:00 PM EDT, 12:00 PM CDT, 11:00 AM MDT, 10:00 AM PDT
Many cities and towns recognize that children have less opportunity and access to play. The City of Tamarac, FL Parks and Recreation Department is bringing play and physical education back to school through their CATCH Kids Program by partnering local elementary school to focus on providing health, physical fitness, education and outdoor activity to elementary school students. The Map of Play is both a playspace finder and a way to gather data on where playspaces exist, the condition of existing playspaces, and where they are needed.
 
Playful City USA Best Practices: Innovative Strategies Through Community Engagement
September 12, 2012 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
The cities of Alexandria, VA and Azusa, CA are both using community engagement as a tool to increase access to playgrounds and physical activity. During this on-line training learn how the Alexandria Childhood Obesity Action Network (A-COAN) is working to address the growing obesity epidemic through policy and community change. Project Play was created to ensure every child has access to a quality playground and raise awareness about the importance of play impacting over 6,000 Alexandria children. The City of Azusa, CA created the Healthy Azusa Committee and the Healthy Azusa project to integrate play throughout all city programs. Discover how the city used community engagement to pass a Complete Streets Policy, Safe Routes to School project, and programs centered on play and parks for children and families.
 
Sincerely Yours: Writing an Op-Ed or Letter to the Editor
August 31, 2010 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Looking to get the word out about play? Not sure where to begin? Pick up a pen! We'll be joined by Playmaker of the Month (August 2008) Myrdin Thompson, who will share her experience writing an Op-Ed about play.
 
Play Matters: A Study of Best Practices to Inform Local Policy and Process in Support of Children's Play
November 5, 2009 at 12:00 PM EST, 11:00 AM CST, 10:00 AM MST, 9:00 AM PST
In this recording you will learn about the impact of local initiatives to improve opportunities for play in 12 communities across the country; how communities increased the quantity and quality of available play spaces and play opportunities in their communities; and, about emerging data linkages between play initiatives to positive outcomes in health, education, education environment and the economy.