Hot Topics in Play

Play in Non-Traditional Places: Every Moment Is a Playful Moment

Join Kerala Taylor, Play Today author and Baby Center Contributor and Danielle Marshall, Director of Community Engagement at KaBOOM! for live online workshop on how to make time for play even in the busiest of family lives. This session will feature low to no cost ideas for play in the "in-between moments," from dinner time, to car rides, to grocery shopping. Watch it Now!

On-Demand Training Modules in this Series
Mapping the State of Play
June 6, 2013 at 3:00 PM EDT, 2:00 PM CDT, 1:00 PM MDT, 12:00 PM PDT
Do you have pride in your community playspaces? Are you looking for a way to engage others in an innovative service project? Perhaps you are a parent or caretaker looking to discover new places to play in your community and beyond? Join us for our upcoming webinar Mapping the State of Play. Led by Danielle Marshall, Director of Community Engagement and Heather Hurd, Coordinator of the Map of Play. The session will focus on how crowd-sourced mapping can be utilized to help you locate new playspaces, engage community groups, and make the case for new or improved playspaces in your community.
 
Play in Non-Traditional Places: Every Moment Is a Playful Moment
December 6, 2012 at 1:00 PM EST, 12:00 PM CST, 11:00 AM MST, 10:00 AM PST
Join Kerala Taylor, Play Today author and Baby Center Contributor and Danielle Marshall, Director of Community Engagement at KaBOOM! for live online workshop on how to make time for play even in the busiest of family lives. This session will feature low to no cost ideas for play in the "in-between moments," from dinner time, to car rides, to grocery shopping.
 
Playing with Your Family
June 5, 2012 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Join us for a interactive discussion on playing with your family featuring Dr. Nancy Carlsson-Paige, Author & Professor of early childhood education at Lesley University and Danielle Marshall, Director of Community Engagement at KaBOOM! The session will focus on how and why to use play as a means to engage everyone in your family, from children to great-grandparents, with special emphasis on the benefits of intergenerational play and considerations to take into account to encourage intergenerational play.
 
The Power of Block Play: Shapes that Embody and Support High-Level Thinking
May 8, 2012 at 3:00 PM EDT, 2:00 PM CDT, 1:00 PM MDT, 12:00 PM PDT
Block play is a wonderful way for children to develop necessary skills in problem solving, spatial reasoning, and creativity. Join George Forman, Ph.D. as he presents a brief history of building with blocks, along the way revealing the affordances each type can have for constructive play.
 
Partners in Neighborhood Parks
February 9, 2012 at 12:00 PM EST, 11:00 AM CST, 10:00 AM MST, 9:00 AM PST
Wendy Nilsson, Chair and Co-Founder of Friends of Brown Street Park, and Beth Charlebois, Director of Neighborhood Parks and Recreation Services in Providence, RI, explain the key to a successful partnership between the city or town parks department and a community group.
 
Outdoor School? Best Practices in Involving Young Children in Outdoor Experiences
January 18, 2012 at 4:00 PM EST, 3:00 PM CST, 2:00 PM MST, 1:00 PM PST
Children today play outside less than any previous generation. Nonetheless, schools have a unique opportunity to offer children crucial free play time as well as the possibility of making lasting connections with natural environments. You'll leave this session with a host of ideas and best practices to involve young children in outdoor experiences, including sound principles for designing your own outdoor or nature preschool.
 
Active Play in Young Children: Environmental Influences and Impact on Academic Achievement
October 13, 2011 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
In this recording, we explore the CDC's comprehensive synthesis of this research and research on the impact of natural playground design on children's physical activity levels.
 
Promoting Engagement and Creative Play with Imagination Playground Loose Parts
September 27, 2011 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Join us for an exciting online panel, moderated by Michelle Figlar and Ernie Dettore of the Pittsburgh Association for the Education of Young Children (PAEYC), that explores the issues of family engagement, safety, and rich play environments in the context of loose parts play and Imagination Playground.
 
Instant Recess: Fitter Schools, Ten Minutes at a Time
September 8, 2011 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Calling all schools, afterschool programs, and youth programs! Join Dr. Toni Yancey and Dr. Melicia Whitt-Glover to explore the what, how, and why of the Instant Recess® approach, including a look at the results of a partnership with the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools. You'll leave inspired and armed with new ideas for incorporating play and movement into any educational setting.
 
How to Guide Play on the Playground for Science Learning
August 25, 2011 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Can we guide play in a way that accomplishes our science learning goals and at the same time improves students' curiosity and interest in science? This online workshop explores the connection between playful learning and innovative play-based interventions.
 
Slow Down for Summer
June 30, 2011 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Join Suz Lipman, founder of Slow Family Online, Social Media Director for Children & Nature Network, and author of the upcoming book, "Fed Up With Frenzy: Slow Parenting in a Fast-Moving World", to gather ideas and resources for outdoor summer activities and play.
 
If You Go Down to the Woods Today...an Introduction to Forest Schools
June 13, 2011 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Forest Schools maximize the social and emotional benefits that nature provides children. Join Lily Horseman, a Forest School practitioner based in the north of England, for this special opportunity to learn about the Forest School ethos and approach to teaching. (*Note: this recording features poor audio quality. Headphones likely will help increase volume, but the background interference cannot be improved.)
 
From Indoors to Outdoors Nature Play
May 17, 2011 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
From play days to walks to art and nature experiences that work in almost any school or children's setting, join Professor Mary Ruth Moore of University of the Incarnate Word in San Antonio, TX, to learn easy ways to stimulate playful learning.
 
Get Outdoors: Connecting Food, Nature, and Play
May 12, 2011 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Get outdoors, have fun, and make food! In this recording you will learn how to connect nature play with food.
 
Reconnecting Adults to Play: Implications for Inspiring Effective Advocacy for Play
April 26, 2011 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Join Dr. Julie Nicholson and Dr.Mariana Shimpi of Mills College in an interactive workshop that explores the role of play in adults' lives and the benefits that results from such play.
 
Community-Built Gardens: an Introduction with Yellow Tractor Program
March 24, 2011 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Join Amy Fox, Executive Director of Yellow Tractor Program, as she guides you through the basics of setting up a fruit and vegetable garden and how to assess the best program to fit your needs.
 
Online to Offline: Using Social Media to Drive Community Action
March 22, 2011 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Find out how to harness the power of social media for outreach and publicity, fundraising, and volunteer recruitment for any community project or action.
 
Saving Play: An Interview with KaBOOM! CEO Darell Hammond
February 28, 2011 at 12:00 PM EST, 11:00 AM CST, 10:00 AM MST, 9:00 AM PST
Bob Becker, Director of the Thurmond Institute of Government & Public Affairs interviews Darell Hammond, KaBOOM! CEO.
 
The Value of Dad's Play
February 15, 2011 at 2:00 PM EST, 1:00 PM CST, 12:00 PM MST, 11:00 AM PST
View this recording with J. Michael Hall, the founder of Strong Fathers-Strong Families, for a look into the unique ways dads play with their children. Mike will go over the benefits that dads' style of play brings to child development.
 
The Benefits of Nature Play
February 1, 2011 at 2:00 PM EST, 1:00 PM CST, 12:00 PM MST, 11:00 AM PST
Kids need to go outside and play! Learn about the developmental benefits of exposure to nature and nature play for children in this free online training.
 
Recess: Where Kids Learn to Play Nice
January 13, 2011 at 2:00 PM EST, 1:00 PM CST, 12:00 PM MST, 11:00 AM PST
Recess got you stressed out? Join Andrea Bossenmeyer of Peaceful Playgrounds for a few proven strategies on how to reduce bullying and playground conflicts, resulting in happy students and a thankful staff.
 
Get Outside!: an All-Weather Guide to Outdoor Playgroups
January 10, 2011 at 1:00 PM EST, 12:00 PM CST, 11:00 AM MST, 10:00 AM PST
Join Kari Svenneby, founder of ActiveKidsClub.com, for a complete guide to starting your own Outdoor Playgroup, from outdoor activities for any season to fun ways to get outside as a family.
 
Overview of Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design for Parks and Recreation
December 16, 2010 at 1:00 PM EST, 12:00 PM CST, 11:00 AM MST, 10:00 AM PST
Viewers will learn how to apply the Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design principles to an open space development plan in order to provide the community with connectivity, diversity, safety and security in parks and recreational settings.
 
Online to Offline: Using Social Media to Drive Community Action
December 1, 2010 at 2:00 PM EST, 1:00 PM CST, 12:00 PM MST, 11:00 AM PST
Check out social media gurus Whitney Soenksen, External Relations Manager for AmeriCorps Alums, and Kerala Taylor, Manager of Online Content and Outreach at KaBOOM!, for a session on best practices, effective strategies, and exemplary case studies in harnessing social media to incite community action.
 
Neighborhood Play, Everyday
October 28, 2010 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Can children play on their own in their neighborhoods like they did decades ago? Absolutely. Tune in as Mike Lanza of Playborhood shares with parents how to make this happen everyday.
 
Recess: It's Child's Play
October 26, 2010 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Recess often gets a bad rap but can be one of the most important elements of any child's day! Research indicates that recess supports children's learning AND healthy development and that five situations contribute to most problems on typical elementary school playgrounds. Join expert JC Boushh in a KaBOOM!-led discussion of what five situations contribute to the most problems on a typical elementary school playground and what easy ways you can make recess a peaceful space for play.
 
So You Want to Be a Play Associate?
September 28, 2010 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Curious about what a Play Associate is? Intrigued about how to become one? View this recording as KaBOOM! introduces you to the concept and application of Play Associates.
 
Putting the Public in Your Park: Connecting Parks, Playspaces, and Patrons
September 27, 2010 at 12:00 PM EDT, 11:00 AM CDT, 10:00 AM MDT, 9:00 AM PDT
Well-used, well-maintained, and well-loved: that's what we want for all our parks and playspaces! Join us in this recording for an hour of tips, advice, and strategies on how to create a successful civic engagement program at your park or playspace.
 
The Power of Play: the Playworks Profile
September 22, 2010 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Join KaBOOM! as we profile an innovative champion of recess: the organization Playworks. We'll learn about Playworks' history, best practices, and specific strategies for maximizing the potential of recess to create positive learning environments.
 
Healthy Classrooms, Healthy Kids
September 15, 2010 at 12:00 PM EDT, 11:00 AM CDT, 10:00 AM MDT, 9:00 AM PDT
Learn how you can improve each child's health every day in a special session hosted by Discovery Education. Get helpful hints on the small, simple changes you can make in your classroom, in your home, and in your community to combat the obesity epidemic.
 
The Benefits of Nature Play
September 14, 2010 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Kids need to go outside and play! Learn about the developmental benefits of exposure to nature and nature play for children.
 
Introduction to Imagination Playground in a Box
September 9, 2010 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
Learn what Imagination Playground is and how it came into existence. We will also go over how Imagination Playground Playground promotes the healthy development of children.
 
The Role of Play in the Overly Academic Classroom
September 9, 2010 at 12:00 PM EDT, 11:00 AM CDT, 10:00 AM MDT, 9:00 AM PDT
Play is being banished from kindergarten classrooms across the U.S. Learn how this is impacting the nation's youth. Narrated by Marcy Guddemi, Executive Director of the Gesell Institute.
 
Fairy Tale Play
July 20, 2010 at 12:00 PM EDT, 11:00 AM CDT, 10:00 AM MDT, 9:00 AM PDT
Join Joan Monk from the Peter Pan Children's Fund as she walks us through the connection between fairy tales and play.
 
Prescription for Play: Nature-based Play and Learning for Children With Special and Autistic Needs
May 3, 2010 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
In this recording learn how to make appropriate design considerations when working with children on the Autism Disorder Spectrum. We will explore how you can create dynamic and inclusive environments for all children by making adjustments to your current playspaces.
* Click here to download the list of supplemental resources on this topic.
 
Playwork: An Introduction
May 3, 2010 at 12:00 PM EDT, 11:00 AM CDT, 10:00 AM MDT, 9:00 AM PDT
London Playworker Penny Wilson on play, playwork, and adventure playgrounds.
 
Opening Up School Recreational Facilities for Community Use through Joint Use Agreements
April 20, 2010 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT
View this recording of a presentation by Stephanie Stevens and Karla Hampton of the National Policy & Legal Analysis Network (NPLAN) address a cost-effective method to increase access to playgrounds.
 
Take it Outside: Six Replicable Nature-Based Play Activities
April 15, 2010 at 3:00 PM EDT, 2:00 PM CDT, 1:00 PM MDT, 12:00 PM PDT
View this recorded session to learn about six easy-to-run activities that adults can facilitate to encourage nature play.
 
Doctor's Orders: Get Outside and Play!
March 17, 2010 at 3:00 PM EDT, 2:00 PM CDT, 1:00 PM MDT, 12:00 PM PDT
Join us in this recording for an informative interview with Dr. Lois Lee of the Children's Hospital of Boston. As Director of the Emergency Department Injury Prevention Program, Dr. Lee will share her perspective on the importance of play.
 
Nutritious Fun: The Interplay Between Nutrition and Nature Play
February 26, 2010 at 3:00 PM EST, 2:00 PM CST, 1:00 PM MST, 12:00 PM PST
How do the eating habits of children fuel their fun on the playground? View this recording to learn how nutrition and nature play are connected.
 
Play at Your Own Risk
January 27, 2010 at 3:00 PM EST, 2:00 PM CST, 1:00 PM MST, 12:00 PM PST
In this special presentation "Play at Your Own Risk," we will discuss the benefits of risk on the playground.
 
Nature Play Rocks!
January 20, 2010 at 3:00 PM EST, 2:00 PM CST, 1:00 PM MST, 12:00 PM PST
This recording is the first of a four-part series focused on nature play! Are the kids playing video games or are they outside swinging from trees? In this session KaBOOM!, in conjunction with Melissa Hanson, the President of the Säjai® Foundation, will discuss the vital role of nature-based play.
 
Accessible Playgrounds: Going Beyond Ramps
November 25, 2009 at 3:00 PM EST, 2:00 PM CST, 1:00 PM MST, 12:00 PM PST
Learn about the critical importance of accessibility and how you can create a playspace for all children.
 
Building Nature Play Back Into Your Community
May 12, 2009 at 4:30 PM EDT, 3:30 PM CDT, 2:30 PM MDT, 1:30 PM PDT
A panel of nature-based play experts discuss ways to bring back outdoor play to your neighborhood.