Play Matters: A Study of Best Practices to Inform Local Policy and Process in Support of Children's Play
November 5, 2009 at 12:00 PM EST, 11:00 AM CST, 10:00 AM MST, 9:00 AM PST
(60 minutes)

The opportunity to play is essential for the physical, social, emotional and educational development of our children and for the health and well-being of our communities. Yet play is disappearing from children's lives. Rising obesity rates are perhaps the most measurable and alarming evidence of a generation of children who are less active and less playful. If this trend is not reversed, this "Sedentary Generation" is on track to live shorter lives than their parents. To this end, KaBOOM! undertook a year-long research project to identify, describe and analyze local initiatives to increase play in 12 communities across the country. KaBOOM! partnered with the Sheridan Group, a public advocacy and policy organization based in Washington, D.C. to conduct the study. In this online training you'll hear highlights from the report. Please join us to learn more about the best practices in informal local policy that support children's play.

 

Click here for minimum tech requirements.