Partners in Neighborhood Parks
February 9, 2012 at 12:00 PM EST, 11:00 AM CST, 10:00 AM MST, 9:00 AM PST
(60 minutes)
Neighborhood parks that serve the needs of the folks nearby don't just happen; they have to be nurtured. Join Wendy Nilsson, Chair and Co-Founder of Friends of Brown Street Park, and Beth Charlebois, Director of Neighborhood Parks and Recreation Services in Providence, RI, to explore the makings of an effective relationship between community groups and city parks departments. Based on their experience revitalizing Brown Street Park in Providence, RI, Wendy and Beth lead listeners through ten steps to becoming partners in neighborhood parks, including ideas for how to engage communities, gather resources, and develop a unique identity for your park that reflects the identity of your neighborhood.

Download a manual on how to partner for neighborhood parks! It contains tips for Parks Departments and community groups, plus activities and resources for meetings, mission statements, and activities.

Download an accompanying pdf of the presentation.